On behalf of Starbranch Law posted in Criminal Defense on Tuesday, April 4, 2017.
Sometimes, a mistake can change your life forever. You may have felt like you were fine to drive, but law enforcement felt otherwise. Perhaps you failed a field sobriety test because you’ve always been clumsy. Maybe your breathalyzer test was falsely positive because you suffer from diabetes or hypoglycemia.
Whatever the reason, now you’re facing a DWI charge. You may be tempted to plead guilty and end this embarrassing chapter in your life. Doing that could be a mistake that could haunt you forever.
The state of New Hampshire takes DWI charges very seriously. That means that you should too. It’s important to do your best to comply with state laws, regardless of the situation you’re experiencing. Simply refusing a breathalyzer test can result in a loss of your driving privileges for a full 180 days.
If you take it and fail due to medical reasons or a poorly calibrated test, your attorney can help you develop a defense strategy that attacks the inaccurate test.
Even first time DWI charges carry steep penalties
You may be under the impression that first time offenders could receive the benefit of the doubt, but you’d be wrong. In New Hampshire, even first time DWI charges can cost you a lot. You won’t be facing jail time (other than the overnight stay when you were arrested), but you could have to pay a fine of between $500 and $1,200.
The state also requires you to attend alcohol and substance abuse therapy. You will lose your license for six months as well. Second time offenders face a mandatory minimum of thirty days in jail, as well as a fine of at least $750 and three years loss of your driver’s license.
Those who have three or more offenses could be in serious legal trouble. Your incarceration will be at least 180 days, but possibly much longer. You could lose your license indefinitely and if you get it back, the state may require the installation of an ignition interlock system in your vehicle. All of this can cost you more than time and money. You could lose your job, your home and even your family as the consequences of your DWI charges will impact everyone around you, too.
An attorney can help you fight a DWI
An experienced defense attorney can help explore your options when you’ve been charged with a DWI offense. Perhaps law enforcement didn’t administer the roadside sobriety or breathalyzer test properly. Maybe you have a medical condition that could have caused a false positive. Discussing all the details with your attorney will help you both to decide on the best defensive strategy. You owe it to yourself and your future to defend yourself against these serious criminal charges.